Your Massachusetts Real Estate License
Quick Links & FAQs
The following Quick Links and answers to Frequently
Asked Questions are provided for the convenience of our members. It is not complete or total information for Real
Estate Licensing or Regulation.
We're not affiliated with the Board
of Registration (the Licensing Board). For further information, current
licensing fees or other licensing questions, contact the Mass. Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons.
They can be reached at (617) 727-2373 or visit their website: www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/re
To check the status of a Mass. Real Estate
License do a License Search
information on pre-licensing courses click here
Change of Address or Name
you've moved, the Board of Registration should be notified. You can notify them online or use the form below to notify them by mail. The form can also be used for a name change
or duplicate license.
Don't forget to notify us also. Email us if you move or change firms.
Change of Address Form
Mass. Licensing Law requires a Broker to have a $5,000
You can get one from an approved insurance or bond company.
The list of approved companies from the Board of Reg. is available on the link below. You
can call your insurance agent and ask if they sell them. The Bonds are usually good for 5 years.
Make sure the bond is completed on an approved bond
form. Click on the link below for a Bond form from the Board of Reg.
Make a copy of the completed Bond for yourself. Mail the original to the Board of Reg., they won't accept copies.
Broker Bond Form
License Renewal Continuing Education
Since January 1, 1999, Massachusetts Real Estate Brokers & Salespeople are required to complete 12 hours
of continuing education every two years for Real Estate License renewal. Click on the link above for more information.
You may choose not to complete the continuing education and be
renewed as inactive.
You may take referral fees on an inactive license, but may not
practice Real Estate in Massachusetts. Salespeople may not obtain the one year experience toward a broker license while inactive.
The license renewal fee is the same for either active or inactive status. To acquire the Inactive Status your
completed renewal form and fee must be submitted to the Board of Registration or your license will expire. By paying the renewal
fee and staying inactive, you avoid paying any late penalties.
The Board of Registration
will then provide you with an inactive notice & re-activation form.
To re-activate an inactive license, simply
complete the Continuing Education requirement and submit your re-activation form.
To Acquire a Real Estate License in Rhode Island
a real estate licensing reciprocal agreement with the state of Rhode Island. The exam for licensing in Rhode Island
is waived to individuals with an active Mass. real estate license in good standing, but you must submit the required
forms, pay the required fees and acquire a Rhode Island license.
letter of Certification will be required from the Mass. Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons.
for a Rhode Island license must be associated with a licensed broker with an active Rhode Island Real Estate License
in good standing.
You’ll be required to carry and maintain individual Errors & Omissions Insurance (company E &
O will not be accepted). The Mass. Broker Bond does not meet the requirements and will not be accepted
in place of E & O insurance. A certificate of insurance from your insurance company will have to be
State of Rhode Island, Department of Business Regulation, Division of Commercial Licensing
and Regulation, Real Estate.
application, forms, instructions and further information is available on their website.
Documents in pdf format require
Adobe Reader to view. Just click on the pdf file and it will open.
If you don't have Adobe Reader, click on the
Reader button below and you’ll be taken to the Adobe web page where it can be downloaded for free.